If you want to become a good AWS Architect or just want to become a better cloud practitioner, then in your path you will come across the AWS Well Architected framework and its five pillars.

Those 5 Pillars are:

  1. Cost Optimization
  2. Reliability
  3. Operational execellence
  4. Performance
  5. Security

The 5 pillars have an acronym of CROPS if arranged in a certain way. This might help you remember the pillar names when trying to recall.

The well architected framework has a general set of principles that architects and cloud practitioners can follow to achieve the best result. For example, under operational excellence pillar, some of the recommendations are to use infrastructure as code to manage infrastructure on aws. Guidance steps are provided to achieve the goals for example to achieve operational excellence this is one of the recommended way:

  1. Prepare
  2. Operate
  3. Evolve

Similarly, each pillar has some principles that the cloud practitioners can follow.

Whether trying to solve a real problem or in the AWS Exam , if you look at the questions presented to you through the lens of these 5 pillars, you’ll likely choose the right answer. In the exam , you may be asked, what’s the best service to use for cold data storage. You’re optimizing for cost here. In real life as well, you’d probably choose Amazon Glacier instead of Amazon S3 for cold data storage to save your company a huge sum.

Or another example, if a company wants to increase security without spending too much, you have to analyze things once again with the well architected framework and come up with a good solution.

I encourage you to look into the well archived framework and start using it for projects or AWS certification exam practice.